1905 Complete Set




Bureau of National Literature and Art  1903  Half-Leather  Near fine, extremely handsome full 10 volume set, covering years 1789-1904, half-leather with marbleized end papers and cover and gilt lettering and top page edges, 5 bands on spine.


On August 24, 1894 the Joint Committee on Printing requested Rep. James D. Richardson of Tennessee to make a compilation of all the annual, special and veto messages, proclamations and inaugural addresses of the Presidents from 1789 to 1894. This was done and distributed in ten volume sets to members of Congress. It was subsequently reprinted and updated over the years.


This is the 1905 edition by the Bureau of National literature and Art, 1905.  Each volume is 10 tall by 7 wide. All Volumes are illustrated with plates. Volume I (587 pages), 1789-1817: George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison; Volume II (658 pages), 1817-1833: James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson: Volume III (640 pages) 1833-1841: Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren: Volume IV (690 pages) 1841-1849: William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, James K. Polk; Volume V (672 pages) 1849-1861: Zachary Taylor, Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan; Volume VI (758 pages) 1861-1869: Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Jackson; Volume VII (640 pages) 1869-1881): Ulysses Grant, Rutherford B. Hayes; Volume VIII (852 pages) 1881-1889: James A. Garfield, Chester A. Arthur, Grover Cleveland; Volume IX (801 pages) 1889-1897: Benjamin Harrison, Grover Cleveland; Volume X (455 pages) 1897-1904 and Index): William McKinley, Theodore Roosevelt, Index.


Overall nice condition with average wear.  The most worn volume is shown in the photo, the rest are better than this one.  Has the original owner's name written on the inside of each volume, a doctor from Madison, Wisconsin.  I purchased this from an estate auction.


Price for set is $125 plus shipping.     SOLD


Phone:  608-438-3912